West Midlands Basketball League

Babe Clay Rosebowl Cup

Babe' Clay was a Director and Company Secretary at a steelworks in Wednesbury, keen basketball player and coach at the BAI in 1935. Clay and Bill Browning set up the Amateur Basketball Association in 1936 and Clay was Secretary and Treasurer until 1949. During the war basketball continued to be played in the Midlands largely due to the work of Babe Clay and Les Cooper.

Clay died suddenly in the early 1960's and is reputed to have left all his money to the English Basketball Association. Two theories emerge as regards the trophy: (i) That it was presented by Clay himself when the Area Club Championship first started and became the Rosebowl Trophy. (ii) It was bought in his memory from donations received by the League after his death.

Year Winners Runners-up
2018/19 Worcester Bears Northwood Valiants
2017/18 Lordswood Birmingham Mets
2016/17 Droitwich Spartans Warley C
2014/15 Balts Cheslyn Hay
2013/14 Birmingham Mets Balts
2012/13 TCAT B Aston Eagles
2011/12 Wolverhampton Big Sky Worcester Kings
2010/11 MLC Warley C
2009/10 Lordswood Wyre Forest A
2008/09 Were Forest Flames Walsall Wizards A
2007/08 Aston Sils Weston Hoops
2006/07 Aston A Wolverhampton CC
2005/06 Wolverhampton CC Churchbridge
2004/05 Aston Uni Pro Guard Pistons
2003/04 Warley A Aston Sils
2002/03 Wolverhampton CC Scorpions
2001/02 Avon Valley Warley C
2000/01 Scorpions ICC Thunderbolts
1999/00 Alvaston LC Godiva Warriors
1998/99 Warley A Stafford Olympics
1997/98 Aston Manor Eagles Bilston CC
1996/97 Bushbury Blazers Warley C
1995/96 Warley C Smithswood
1994/95 Bournville Oaklands
1993/94 Godiva Warriors Chase Bucks
1992/93 Apolo Sils Nuneaton
1991/92 Lasers B Lasers A
1990/91 Lasers A Featherstone Wasps
1989/90 Great Barr Crocs Warley A
1988/89 Team Vigo Aston Uni
1987/88 Warley High Lasers A
1986/87 Bennetts Bank Bournville
1985/86 Bridge Trust Hornets Davenports
1984/85 Bournville Stafford Olympics
1983/84 3C Warriors Old Centrals
1982/83 Davenports Bournville B
1981/82 Dudley West Brom Wildcats
1980/81 Old Marts Bournville
1979/80 BCA Pathfinders Manor A
1978/79 Hat & Fisher A Cork & Bottle
1977/78 Incol Solihull Manor Mustangs
1976/77 West Brom College West Brom YMCA
1975/76 West Brom YMCA Warley High
1974/75 Old Norts Bulldogs
1973/74 Warley High Leckie A
1972/73 RAF Stafford Dudley Eagles
1971/72 Old Salts A Birmingham Uni A
1970/71 Old Norts B Old Norts A


Never miss an update

Follow the site to get the latest news and results straight to your email

Follow us